Copyright © 2017 Home - Hostgator Reviews

ISCFS History

Linton A. Whitaker, MD and Jesse A. Taylor, MD

The International Society of Craniofacial Surgery (ISCFS) was founded in June, 1983 in Montreal as the Craniofacial Chapter of the International Confederation for Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery. Eighteen founding members were present at that meeting, held at the time of the International Quadrennial Congress in Montreal. The founding members at that time represented the leading plastic surgeons in the world with an interest in and focus on craniofacial surgery. They were: Dr. E.P. Caronni; Mr. D.J. David; Dr. M.T. Edgerton; Dr. I.T. Jackson; Dr. D.B. Johanson; Dr. H.K. Kawamoto; Dr. D. Marchac; Dr. J.G. McCarthy; Dr. I.R. Munro; Dr. J.E. Murray; Dr. F. Ortiz-Monasterio; Dr. J. Psillakis; Dr. K.E. Salyer; Dr. M. Striker; Dr. P. Tessier; Dr. J.C. van der Meulen; Dr. L.A. Whitaker; Dr. S.A. Wolfe.

Paul Tessier was elected Honorary President at that organizational meeting and a by-laws committee was established. Criteria were set for entrance to membership, particularly including the necessity for having formal training by a team recognized internationally, the necessity for having publications in the field of craniofacial surgery in the 24 months prior to application, and the need for doing a certain number of intracraniofacial procedures per year. Initially the Society was named the International Society of Craniomaxillofacial Surgery. However, because of the divergence of the fields, and in the interest of clarification, the name was subsequently changed to its current form, the International Society of Craniofacial Surgery.

The Society’s first meeting was held in La Napoule, France, with Daniel Marchac as organizer . Paul Tessier presided as honorary president there, and in 1987 at the next meeting, held in New Delhi, India, at the time of the International Confederation meeting, Subsequent meetings have been held on all continents (except Antartica), with as many as 29 countries having been represented, reflecting the major importance of this meeting worldwide.

The Congress’ podium presentations have evolved from descriptions of basic techniques of how to do craniofacial surgery at the original meetings, to outcomes studies and presentations of improving techniques. Presentations then began to focus on molecular biology as it relates to craniofacial growth and development, minimally invasive procedures, distraction osteogenesis, the use of endoscopic procedures, application of advanced imaging techniques, and the continuing assessment of all forms of methodology currently in use. Most recently, leading edge presentations have highlighted some of the emerging concepts including: 1. Whole genome sequencing; 2. Fetal imaging and diagnosis 3. Computer aided design and modeling; 4. 3-D printing technology; 5. Advances in craniofacial educational theory and practice.

As the foremost organization in the world, bringing together the leading thinkers and practitioners in this extraordinary field, we envision a future with advances that will lead to results that approach normalcy with more certainty of outcome. This will be brought about by continuing patient centered outcomes studies in which we look critically at our results, research into new technologies, an improved understanding about craniofacial developmental biology, and an enhanced ability to understand the human genome leading toward methods of prevention and less invasive intervention.

Current ISCFS Officers


Fernando Molina
(Mexico City, Mexico)

Dr Eric Arnaud

Eric Arnaud
Vice President
(Paris, France)


Irene Mathijssen
(Rotterdam, The Netherlands)


Kaneshige Satoh
Past President, 2015
(Tokyo, Japan)

Charles Davis

Charles Davis
(Wellington, New Zealand)


Stephen Dover
(Birmingham, UK)

Figueroa Alvaro

Alvaro Figueroa
(Chicago, IL, USA)


Richard Hopper
(Seattle, USA)

Juan Carlos Rodriguez[1]

Juan Carlos Rodriguez
(Buenos Aires, Argentina)

f t g m